Contact Us | Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
News & Press: IBPA Association News

IBPA Announces Finalists in the 30th Annual Benjamin Franklin Book Award™ Program

Monday, March 19, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |


Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA) Announces Finalists in the 30th Annual Benjamin Franklin Award™ Program for Excellence in Book Publishing

Gold and Silver winners to be announced April 6, 2018 during a gala dinner ceremony in conjunction with IBPA Publishing University in Austin, Texas

(Manhattan Beach, CA - March 19, 2018) -- The Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA) – – is honored to announce the finalists in the 30th annual IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award™ program recognizing excellence in books released by independent publishers during calendar year 2017. From close to 1,500 entries, over 100 more entries than last year, three or four finalists were named in each of fifty-four categories. The winner of each category will be announced during a special IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award™ ceremony, Friday, April 6, 2018 at the Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol in Austin, Texas.

The complete list of the 30th annual IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award™ finalists can be found on the IBPA website.

Tickets to the April 6, 2018 award ceremony can be purchased here. The ceremony comes at the end of the first day of IBPA Publishing University, a two-day event with over 30 educational and networking sessions developed to foster collaboration within the independent publishing community.

For 30 years, the IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award™ program has been regarded as one of the highest national honors for independent publishers. Finalists this year include a variety of books by renowned creators including Thich Nhat Hanh (Teachers Change the World; Parallax Press; 978-1941529638), Nan Alexander Doyal (Dig Where You Are: How One Person's Effort Can Save a Life, Empower a Community and Create Meaningful Change in the World; Casper Press; 978-0997320305), and the Chicago Tribune Staff (The Chicago Tribune Book of the Chicago Cubs: A Decade-By-Decade History; Agate Midway; 978-1572842175). Finalists come from publishers large and small, hybrid presses, traditional houses, self-published authors, and national associations such as the National Association of Home Builders, American Diabetes Association, and the White House Historical Association.

"For 30 years, the IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award™ program has shined a light on some of the best independently published books of the year. Finalists exemplify professional standards, high-quality content, and innovative design," said Angela Bole, IBPA Chief Executive Officer. "Winning can prove an emerging publisher’s credibility and solidify a mature publisher's continued success."

Over 150 librarians, booksellers, and design and editorial experts – most of whom have decades of book industry experience – judge the books submitted to the IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award™ program. The judging process takes close to six months, beginning in September and continuing into March each year. At the end of the process, every entrant receives written critiques from the three individual judges who reviewed their book. The critiques include constructive feedback to help each publisher understand how their book is being perceived by industry professionals, upholding part of IBPA’s mission—to serve the independent publishing community through education.

The list of winners, both Gold and Silver, will be posted on the IBPA website following the April 6, 2018 IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award™ ceremony in Austin, Texas.

See what happened at the 29th annual ceremony:

Contact Terry Nathan, IBPA COO, at

About the Independent Book Publishers Association

Founded in 1983 to support independent publishers nationwide, the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA) leads and serves the independent publishing community through advocacy, education, and tools for success. With over 3,000 members, IBPA is the largest publishing association in the U.S. Its vision is a world where every independent publisher has the tools and knowledge needed to professionally engage in all aspects of the publishing industry. For more information, visit

About the IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award™ Program

The IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards™ are administered by the Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA) with help from over 150 publishing professionals, including librarians, bookstore owners, reviewers, designers and editors. All entrants receive direct feedback from the judges which is sure to help guide future publications. For more information, visit

# # # #

Connect With Us

1020 Manhattan Beach Blvd., Suite 204 Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy
P: 310-546-1818 F: 310-546-3939 E:
© 2019 Independent Book Publishers Association