From the Boardroom

December 2008
by Florrie Binford Kichler

« Back to Independent Articles


by Florrie Binford Kichler

From the Boardroom

Your hard-working board of directors gathered near the headquarters of IBPA in California for the first board meeting of the IBPA 2008–2009 fiscal year and the third board meeting of calendar year 2008. Following is a brief summary of that August meeting.

New board members. Beginning two-year terms as directors of IBPA are Norman Goldfind, Basic Health Publications, Inc.; Mary Ellen Lepionka, Atlantic Path Publishing; Dave Marx, Passporter Books; and Steve Mettee, Quill Driver Books/Word Dancer Press.

Jan Nathan Award and Jan Nathan Scholarship. Work on these two initiatives honoring our late executive director, Jan Nathan, continues, with target announcement dates of specifics in early 2009 for the Jan Nathan Scholarship and mid-2009 for the Jan Nathan Award.

Independent advertising. A policy providing that book-award advertising in the Independent will be restricted to our own Benjamin Franklin Awards was moved, seconded, and passed.

Treasurer’s report. Treasurer Cevin Bryerman reported that IBPA is in healthy financial condition. Approval of the …IBPA Members – Click here to view the full article (login required).

Join Today!

« Back to Independent Articles

How to Get Involved!
Marketing Opportunities

From mailings to exhibits, see how IBPA's marketing programs help you grow your sales.

Educational Opportunities

Attend a seminar, ask an expert, and get more free advice with our educational programs.

Become a member

Access exclusive members-only benefits starting at just $10.