BF Judges and; We Thank You

June 2000
by Jan Nathan, PMA Executive Director

« Back to Independent Articles

This year we tried something new with the Benjamin Franklin Awards
program. After years of listening to our judges say that each year the
entries were getting more difficult to judge and required much more time
than we allowed, we decided to go out with two calls for entries. In July,
we mailed the first call for entries for those books published January
through June. Then we mailed these to our judges in August and they began
the tedious task of judging. The second call for entries was sent in late
November for all books published from July through December. These were
then mailed to the same judges in January for a completion of each
category’s judging process.

  With approximately 1,700 entries this year, the Benjamin Franklin
Awards reached an all-time high. Though we never disclose the specific
category they judge, we would like to publicly thank and have you all
recognize the people who donate so much of their time to help you both get
applause for and improve your product.

  This year’s judges are:  Shirley H. Adkins, Womack Publishing/Star-Tribune; Tracy Aquino;
Eladio Jose Armesto, El Nuevo Patria; David C. L. Bauer, Daily News; Henry
Berry, The Small Press Book Review; Barbara Bibel, Oakland Public Library;
Helen Blanchard, Sentinel-Standard; Shannon Bodie, Lightbourne; Gene

IBPA Members – Click here to view the full article (login required).

Join Today!

« Back to Independent Articles

How to Get Involved!
Marketing Opportunities

From mailings to exhibits, see how IBPA's marketing programs help you grow your sales.

Educational Opportunities

Attend a seminar, ask an expert, and get more free advice with our educational programs.

Become a member

Access exclusive members-only benefits starting at just $10.